Ajinkya Rahane has been named in the Indian squad for the final World Test against Australia while Suryakumar Yadav has been left out.

Ajinkya Rahane returns to the Indian team for the final World Test series against Australia. Suryakumar Yadav, on the other hand, was not included. Rahane, an 82-match veteran, last played for India in the longest format in January last year. Since then, it has not been considered for selection due to its poor quality. However, after doing well in domestic cricket in the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the 34-year-old is back.

From the Indian team that fielded against Australia in the third and fourth Tests, Suryakumar Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav and Ishan Kishan were prominent players while Shreyas Iyer could not make the squad due to injury. Along with Rahane, the ever-changing Shardul Thakur has also joined the squad for the WTC final.

With Iyer injured, the selection committee decided to recall veteran Rahane. The experienced hitter has become the talk of the town in the Indian cricket spectrum due to his outstanding show with the bat in the IPL for CSK. In the season so far, Rahane has taken 209 runs at an average of 52.25. The runs achieved an exceptional strike rate of 199.04. He currently sits third on the list of top scorers in the tournament.

Indian squad for WTC final against Australia: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat.

There will be a clash between India and Australia from June 07 to June 11 at the London Oval. In the recent 4 Border-Gavaskar Test match between the two teams, Rohit Sharma's men have won 2-1. However, away from home things should be trickier for one.